

City of La Quinta

CITY / SA / HA / FA MEETING DATE: October 7, 2014

ITEM TITLE: APPOINT ONE MEMBER TO THE DESERT

CLASSIC CHARITIES CHARITY EVALUATION

COMMITTEE

AGENDA CATEGORY:

BUSINESS SESSION: 3

CONSENT CALENDAR:

STUDY SESSION:

PUBLIC HEARING:

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Appoint one member to the 2015 Desert Classic Charities Charity Evaluation Committee.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

- Desert Classic Charities is responsible for distributing funds generated from the Humana Challenge Golf Tournament to local charities.
- Per a Use and Marketing Agreement ("Agreement"), the City may have a representative on the Charity Evaluation Committee ("Committee"), who would review applications and help determine, with the group, the distribution of funds.
- Each year the City Council appoints a member to the Committee. (A list of the 2014 Committee members is provided as Attachment 1).
- Last year, Mayor Adolph served on the Committee with Council Member Franklin as an alternate.

BACKGROUND/ANALYSIS:

In 2011 the City and Desert Classic Charities entered into the Agreement wherein the City would participate in the Humana Challenge Golf Event. The City may also select a representative to serve on the Desert Classic Charities Fund Distribution Committee. The Committee selects the local charities that receive funds from the Event.

Committee members are assigned three to five applications from local charities by December 1, 2014. Committee Members are responsible for providing a written recommendation of each applicant based on the member's interviews, site visits, and research of the organization. This year's Humana Challenge Tournament will be held January 19 through 25, 2015.

ALTERNATIVES:

The City Council may choose to not appoint a member; the Desert Classic Charities may then fill this vacancy with another person associated with the Event.

Report prepared by: Steve Howlett, Golf, Parks and Facilities Manager Report approved for submission by: Edie Hylton, Deputy City Manager

Attachment: 1. 2014 Committee List

ATTACHMENT 1

CHARITY EVALUATION COMMITTEE - AS OF SEPTEMBER 1, 2014

Don Adolph Keenan Barber, M.D. John Evenson John Foster Kristy Franklin Virginia Judd Joe Kirby **Roger Low** Kevin McGuire William Powers James R. Reed, Chair AJ Staples Eugene Weisberg Dick Zeigler