

City of La Quinta

CITY / SA/ HA/ FA MEETING DATE: June 16, 2015

ITEM TITLE: APPROVE FORMATION AND SPECIFICATIONS OF AN ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO EVALUATE THE CITY'S FINANCIAL NEEDS, AND CONDUCT INTERVIEWS AND MAKE APPOINTMENTS TO THE NEWLY FORMED COMMITTEE

AGENDA CATEGORY:

BUSINESS SESSION: 1

CONSENT CALENDAR:

STUDY SESSION:

PUBLIC HEARING:

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

- 1. Approve formation and specifications of an Advisory Committee to evaluate the City's financial needs; and
- 2. Conduct interviews and make appointments to the newly formed Committee.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

- On April 7, 2015, the City Council outlined the formation and operation of an Advisory Committee (Committee) to evaluate the City's financial needs.
- The Committee's charge will be to review the City's current and long-term financial position, and formulate recommendations to the City Council that include potential revenue measures.
- The City advertised for applicants to form the Committee and received 14 applications (Attachment 2).
- The City Council will interview and appoint applicants to the vacancies by ballot (Attachment 3).

FISCAL IMPACT:

The fiscal impact of facilitating the Committee would be absorbed in the 2015/16 Operating Budget. The costs would entail staff time, materials preparation and meeting noticing costs. Committee members will be unpaid volunteers.

BACKGROUND/ANALYSIS

During the April 7, 2015 Study Session, City Council discussed the benefits of forming

an Advisory Committee to review City finances and offer recommendations regarding revenue measures. In the event Council considers placing a revenue measure on the November 2016 ballot and wishes to receive community input prior to that decision, it was determined that a committee should be established at this time.

The specifications of a newly-formed committee must be established. Attachment 1 sets forth the recommended provisions for the committee, which include the following:

- Members of the new Committee will be volunteers and must demonstrate a connection to La Quinta through residency, property ownership or place of business.
- The Committee will meet twice a month at City Hall (date and time to be established by Committee members) with a one-year term for members and alternates (if any), unless the Committee is disbanded earlier.

Council will determine the Committee name, number of members, and whether or not members may simultaneously serve on a City board or commission.

Notices calling for applications were published in *The Desert Sun* on May 9 and May 13, 2015, in the June issue of the *The Gem*, and posted on the City's website.

Applications were received from the following residents:

George J. Batavick
Dennis G. Byerly
James Y. Cathcart
Mark L. Johnson
Frank Kalb
Kelly Ladner
Bob Leidner
Michele McDonough
W. Richard Mills
Douglas Motz
Bette L. Myers
David Alan Park
Steven Rosen
Doriel Wyler

ALTERNATIVE:

Council may elect not to form an Advisory Committee.

Report prepared by: Susan Maysels, City Clerk

Report approved for submission by: Frank J. Spevacek, City Manager

Attachments: 1. Committee Specifications

2. Applications

3. Ballots

ADVISORY COMMITTEE Established June 16, 2015

<u>NAME</u> :	
PURPOSE, POWERS AND DUTIES:	
Study the City's revenues, expenditures, projections and r	
formulate a recommendation(s) to the City Council on or before.	January 19, 2016.
NUMBER OF MEMBERS:	
TERM OF MEMBERS:	

APPOINTMENTS:

All members shall be appointed by the City Council. Members <u>may (may not)</u> serve on other City boards/commission concurrent with membership on this Committee.

The lesser of one year or the date the Committee is disbanded by the City Council.

QUALIFICATIONS OF MEMBERS:

All members shall initially and during their term, be bona fide City residents or owners of a business(es) or property(ies) within the City.

MEETINGS, ORGANIZATION, QUORUM AND RULES:

- a) The Committee shall meet twice each month or as needed on the dates selected by the Committee.
- b) Provisions of Municipal Code Section 2.06.050 items B through G regarding special meetings, quorums, rules of procedure, and chair/vice chairperson shall apply to this Committee.

COMPENSATION:

Committee members shall serve without compensation.

COMPLIANCE WITH THE POLITICAL REFORM ACT:

All Committee members shall comply with the Political Reform Act disclosure statutes regarding financial conflicts of interest, and the Ralph M. Brown Act regarding open meetings.

REMOVAL FROM OFFICE, LIMITATION ON ABSENCES:

Provisions of Municipal Code Section 2.06.090 shall apply to this Committee.

STAFF SUPPORT AND RECONDICEPING:

Provisions of Municipal Code Section 2.06.100 shall apply to this Committee.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE APPLICANTS

Batavick, George J.

Byerly, Dennis G.

Cathcart, James Y.

Johnson, Mark L.

Kalb, Frank

Ladner, Kelly

Leidner, Bob

McDonough, Michele

Mills, W. Richard

Motz, Doug

Myers, Bette L.

Park, David Alen

Rosen, Steven

Wyler, Doriel

2015 BALLOTS

APPOINTMENTS TO NEW ADVISORY COMMITTEE

BALLOT Round No. 1 ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Open seats: TBD

	Richard Batavick	Dennis Byerly	James Cathcart	Mark Johnson	Frank Kalb	Kelly Ladner	Bob Leidner	Michele McDonough	W. Richard Mills	Doug Motz	Bette Myers	David Allen Park	Steven Rosen	Doriel Wyler
EVANS														
FRANKLIN														
OSBORNE														
PEÑA														
RADI														
TOTAL														-

BALLOT Round No. 2 (if needed)

	Richard Batavick	Dennis Byerly	James Cathcart	Mark Johnson	Frank Kalb	Kelly Ladner	Bob Leidner	Michele McDonough	W. Richard Mills	Doug Motz	Bette Myers	David Allen Park	Steven Rosen	Doriel Wyler
EVANS														
FRANKLIN														
OSBORNE														
PEÑA														
RADI														
TOTAL														

ADVISORY COMMITTEE BALLOT Round No. 3 (if needed)

	Richard Batavick	Dennis Byerly	James Cathcart	Mark Johnson	Frank Kalb	Kelly Ladner	Bob Leidner	Michele McDonough	W. Richard Mills	Doug Motz	Bette Myers	David Allen Park	Steven Rosen	Doriel Wyler
EVANS														
FRANKLIN														
OSBORNE														
PEÑA														
RADI														
TOTAL														

BALLOT Round No. 4 (if needed)

	Richard Batavick	Dennis Byerly	James Cathcart	Mark Johnson	Frank Kalb	Kelly Ladner	Bob Leidner	Michele McDonough	W. Richard Mills	Doug Motz	Bette Myers	David Allen Park	Steven Rosen	Doriel Wyler
EVANS														
FRANKLIN														
OSBORNE														
PEÑA														
RADI														
TOTAL														